WPL 2023: Royal Challengers Bangalore sign Sania Mirza as team mentor for inaugural WPL season

The inaugural edition of the Women's Premier League will get underway on March 4.

Sania Mirza | RCB/TwitterRoyal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) have roped in India’s Tennis star Sania Mirza as their mentor for the inaugural Women's Premier League (WPL) season.

"It is a pleasure for me to join the RCB women's team as a mentor," the winner of six Grand Slam said in a statement issued by RCB.

"Indian women's cricket has seen a tectonic shift with the Women's Premier League, and I am really looking forward to being a part of this revolutionary pitch," she added.

"RCB and its brand philosophy perfectly resonates with my vision and outlook as that's how I have approached my playing career and it's also how I see contributing to sports post my retirement. RCB has been a popular team and much followed team in the IPL over the years. I am immensely happy to see them building a team for the Women's Premier League," she further stated.

"It will push the women's sports to new heights in the country, open new doors to women cricketers and help make sports the first career choice for young girls and young parents with a girl child," she said.

Mirza called time on her Tennis career after the Australian Open earlier this year. She has announced that the ATP Dubai Open later this month would be her last tournament.

Speaking about the appointment, Rajesh V Menon, head and vice president of RCB said, "We are glad and honoured to welcome Sania Mirza as mentor of the RCB women's team. She is the perfect role model with her success stemming out of her sheer hard work, passion, and determination, despite many challenges in her playing career.”

During the first-ever WPL auction on February 13, RCB signed some big names like Smriti Mandhana, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Sophie Devine, Heather Knight, Dane Van Niekerk, Richa Ghosh among others.

The inaugural edition of the Women's Premier League is slated to be held in Mumbai from March 4 to 26. A total of 22 matches will be played at the Brabourne Stadium and DY Patil Stadium.


By Salman Anjum - 15 Feb, 2023

    Share Via