Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 2021: Cricket fraternity reacts as Tamil Nadu beats Karnataka in final by 4 wickets

Shahrukh Khan scored 33* in the final to help TN win back-to-back titles.

Shahrukh Khan led TN to their 4th SMAT title | TwitterTamil Nadu team under the captaincy of Vijay Shankar triumphed over a brilliant Karnataka team led by Manish Pandey in the final of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy 2021 in Delhi on November 22, 2021.

The two teams have traded wins and losses in the past 4-5 years in the tournament finals and this match was no different than the others.

Tamil Nadu captain Vijay Shankar won the toss and chose to field first at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. Thanks to 46 from Abhinav Manohar and 33 from Praveen Dubey, Karnataka managed to post a fighting 151/7 in 20 overs.

R Sai Kishore, who has had a brilliant tournament, picked 3/12, while Sandeep Warrier, Sanjay Yadav, and T Natarajan picked one wicket each.

IND v NZ 2021: "We will definitely keep an eye on him," says Rohit Sharma on 'bright prospect' Venkatesh Iyer

In reply, Hari Nishaanth made a quick start of 23 in 12 balls, while fellow opener N Jagadeesan made 41. However, the match got extremely close in the end with Tamil Nadu but the presence of Shahrukh Khan in the middle proved to be beneficial.

He remained unbeaten on 33* in 15 balls with 3 sixes and one four as Tamil Nadu reached the target with 4 wickets in hand and defended their Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 title.

The cricket fraternity was elated with the performance shown by the Tamil Nadu side and showered them with praises on social media.

Here are the tweets:



By Jatin Sharma - 22 Nov, 2021

    Share Via