IPL 2021: "Still hoping to see Chahal in T20 World Cup squad," says Harbhajan Singh

Yuzvendra Chahal picked up 10 wickets in five matches of RCB's IPL 2021 second-phase.

Yuzvendra Chahal | IPL/BCCI

Veteran spinner Harbhajan Singh on Tuesday (October 5) said he is still hoping to see Yuzvendra Chahal in Team India's T20 World Cup squad. The tournament is set to kick off on October 17 and the Boards are allowed to make changes in the squad till October 10th.

To everyone's surprise, Chahal missed out on the 2021 T20 World Cup squad and he wasn't even named in the standby players. The leggie has been performing well in the UAE leg of IPL 2021.

Harbhajan also spoke on one of the reasons given for Chahal's exclusion from the squad and he advised the leggie to not bowl too slow.

ALSO READ: IPL 2021: Harbhajan Singh slams a troll who tweets "you are on a free trip"

"You have given ur best as always.. keep it up.. and make sure u keep bowling at the right pace. Not too slow OK..still hoping to see you in team India for T20 World Cup. Champion bowler (SIC)," Harbhajan tweeted.

Chahal bagged ten wickets in five IPL 2021 matches played in UAE. His best bowling figures of 3/11 came against Mumbai Indians in Dubai. 

However, former India cricketer Ajit Agarkar isn't in favor of making changes in the T20 World Cup squad. "In my opinion, once you have picked the squad for World Cup -- barring injury -- I don't think you should make any changes. 

"Yes, there are guys at the moment who are not in their great form, but it only takes one innings -- whether it's bowling or batting -- to change that form around, and that could still happen before the end of the IPL," Agarkar said on Star Sports show Cricket Connected.

"So, if you think that's the best 15 you've picked going to the World Cup, my personal opinion, I would stick with it, because you gotta show faith in people even when things are not looking so good, because things can turn around very quickly," he added.

India squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (VC), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rahul Chahar, Varun, Mohammed Shami, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishan Kishan.

Stand-byes: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur. 

(With ANI Inputs)


By Sihyeu Singh - 06 Oct, 2021

    Share Via