Sreesanth makes his domestic return; named in Kerala squad for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Sreesanth shared a video of receiving the Kerala cap on his Twitter.

Sreesanth receives his Kerala cap Former India bowler Sreesanth has finally made his return to the Indian domestic circuit, as he was named in Kerala’s squad for the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy, starting in January 2021.

37-year-old Sreesanth’s ban for spot-fixing ended in September 2020, but the COVID-19 lockdown hampered his return to top tier cricket.

He was earlier included in the list of players for the local T20 event in Alappuzha this month. But the inaugural KCA President’s Cup T20 was deferred as the KCA did not get the government nod due to the spread of coronavirus.

BCCI rejects Yuvraj Singh's comeback bid for Punjab in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy; Mandeep Singh to captain

Sreesanth shared the video of getting the Kerala cap on Twitter with the caption reading, “There is nothing stronger than a broken man ,who has rebuilt himself..” Thnks a lot for all the Supoort nd love 

A Kerala Cricket Association (KCA) official said Sanju Samson will lead the Kerala team for the Syed Mushtaq Ali T/20 Tournament. Sachin Baby is his deputy. Apart from Sreesanth, Samson, and Baby, the other players featuring in the list are Basil Thampi, Jalaj Saxena, Robin Uthappa, Vishnu Vinod, Salman Nizar, Nidheesh MD, and Asif KM.

The other players to round off Kerala’s squad for Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy are Akshay Chandran, Abhishek Mohan SL, Vinoop S Manoharan, Mohammed Azharuddeen M, Rohan S Kunnummal, and Midhun S.

The squad also sees four new faces in Vathsal Govind Sharma, Sreeroop M P, Midhun PK and Rojith KG.

(PTI inputs)


By Jatin Sharma - 30 Dec, 2020

    Share Via