BCCI Chief reveals why Virat Kohli missed a spot in ICC Test team

Anurag Thakur, president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has been given the perfect reason behind the star Indian Test skipper Virat Kohli, who did not make count to the International Cricket Council's (ICC) Test Team and the reason, is that the voting came till September and he made all the runs after that month.

Recently concluded Test series between Indian and England, which won by Virat Kohli-led World No. 1 Indian Test with 4-0, where the skipper managed to score 655 runs and claimed Man-of-the-Series award but in a split of this team Kohli missed a berth in the ICC Test team of the year 2016.

Here is the BCCI president revealed the reason of this. Thakur to ANI about Virat Kohli, "Unfortunately, Virat Kohli, who has turned into a big player, did not make it to the ICC's Test Team because voting happens in September window and he made all the runs after this September," 

The Indian cricket board chief also congratulated off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja for achieving two top spots in the ICC Test rankings for bowlers.

Thakur said, "I would like to congratulate both of the players for performing tremendously well and guiding the team to repeated victories as well as to the No.1 spot in rankings,"

With his maiden 10-wicket match haul during the Chennai Test against England, Ravindra Jadeja finds his place in the second position in the rankings, only behind teammate Ravi Ashwin in the latest ICC Player Rankings for Test Bowlers.

In 1974, former Indian left-arm spinner Bishan Singh Bedi and leg-spinner Bhagwath Chandrasekhar were taken the top two spots in the ICC Player Rankings for Test Bowlers and now this year same thing happen when two Indian blowers named Jadeja and Ashwin did the same.

The BCCI president also wished that Virat Kohli-led Indian Test team continue to remain at the number one position in the world and attain greater heights in the coming days. Thakur further stated, "I hope Team India continue to remain the No. 1 team under the guidance of Virat Kohli. And the way Mahendra Singh Dhoni and then Kohli led the team to victories clearly shows that the team will continue to achieve greater heights in the coming future,"


By Rashmi Nanda - 23 Dec, 2016

    Share Via