IND v NZ 2021: COC Predicted Team India playing XI for the first Test against New Zealand

Kanpur Test begins from November 25 and second Test in Mumbai from Dec 3.

Ajinkya Rahane will captain Indian team in 1st Test in Kanpur | BCCI TwitterThe first Test between India and New Zealand is scheduled to be played at the Green Park stadium in Kanpur from November 25, 2021. The second Test of the series will be played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai from December 3rd.

India has rested a bunch of players who have been on road for the last 6 months and living in the bio-bubbles keeping in mind the upcoming South Africa tour. The players rested include Virat Kohli for the first Test match and others like Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammad Shami have been rested for both the Tests.

Therefore, TEAM COC presents the predicted playing XI for the first Test in Kanpur against New Zealand.

IND v NZ 2021: He's on thin ice; New Zealand Tests very important for Rahane- Aakash Chopra

KL Rahul was ruled out of the Test series due to a thigh muscle strain, which led to the BCCI selectors including Suryakumar Yadav in the Indian squad as well.

This means Mayank Agarwal and Shubman Gill might open the innings with Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane in the middle order, along with debutant Shreyas Iyer, who was confirmed by stand-in captain Rahane.

India will have a choice of either KS Bharat or Wriddhiman Saha as the wicketkeeper in the playing XI. India will look to play three spinners given the pitch at the Green Park stadium is conducive to slow bowling. Therefore Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, and Akshar Patel might play in the XI to take the most advantage of the wicket.

As for the pacers, India might go for Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Siraj with the options of Ishant Sharma and Prasidh Krishna in the squad as well to choose from.

COC Predicted Team India playing XI for the first Test vs New Zealand:

Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shreyas Iyer, Ajinkya Rahane (C), Ravindra Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), R Ashwin, Akshar Patel, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj


By Jatin Sharma - 24 Nov, 2021

    Share Via