IND v AUS 2023: Rinku, Akshar heroics help India pocket series with 20-run win over Australia in 4th T20I

The 5th and final T20I will be played in Bengaluru on December 3rd.

Yashasvi Jaiswal  | GettyIndia and Australia clashed in the 4th T20I of the five-match series at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium, Raipur on December 1, 2023. India came into the series with a lead of 2-1, with Australia spectacularly winning the 3rd match.

Matthew Wade started well as he won the toss and chose to field first. Chris Green made his T20I debut for Australia and there were five changes in total. In the Indian team, there were four changes with Shreyas Iyer, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar, and Jitesh Sharma coming into the XI.

Yashasvi Jaiswal got a good start, scoring 37 in 28 balls, but got out in trying to continue the momentum. Ruturaj Gaikwad made 32 runs. The Australian bowlers removed the dangerous Shreyas Iyer (8) and Suryakumar Yadav (1) early.

But once again, Rinku Singh (46 in 29 balls) provided the death overs fireworks with 4 fours and 2 sixes.

Rohit Sharma offered India T20I captaincy; decision to be made later- Report

He got good support from Jitesh Sharma, who made 35 in 19 with 3 sixes and one four as India posted 174/9. Ben Dwarshuis picked 3/40, while Jason Behrendorff and Tanveer Sangha took 2 scalps each.

Travis Head started the chase well with 31 in 16 balls, but then Indian spinners did the trick as Akshar Patel took 3/16 and Ravi Bishnoi picked 1/17. The fast bowlers got some stick at the start and despite 22 from Matt Short and 36* by captain Matthew Wade, Australia could only manage 154/7.

India won the match by 20 runs and went 3-1 up with one match to go.


IND 174/9 (R Singh 46, Y JAISWAL 37; B DWARSHUIS 3/40) defeated AUS 154/7 (M WADE 36*; T HEAD 31; A PATEL 3/16) by 20 runs.

India leads 5-match T20I series 3-1.


By Jatin Sharma - 01 Dec, 2023

    Share Via