IND v AUS 2023: “Only two people?”- India captain Suryakumar Yadav surprised by low media turnout ahead of first T20I

Suryakumar Yadav will captain India for the first time in international cricket.

Suryakumar Yadav will captain India for the first time in international cricket | GettyIndia’s captain for the five-match T20I series against Australia, which begins on November 23, 2023, Suryakumar Yadav was shocked at the low media turnout for the pre-match press conference ahead of the first T20I, which will be played in Vizag.

The series is being played just 3 days after the final of the ICC World Cup 2023 between India and Australia was held in Ahmedabad on November 19.

Not only players are feeling the fatigue of the energy swapping one and half months of the CWC 2023, but the media and journalists are feeling it as well.

Only two journalists showed up for Suryakumar Yadav’s pre-series press conference ahead of India vs Australia T20s in Visakhapatnam. For a team that draws incredible numbers from media coverage to stadium attendance, this is surprisingly low.

VVS Laxman in fray for India head coach job as Rahul Dravid not keen on renewing contract- Report

“Only two people?”, said India’s captain Suryakumar Yadav for the five-match T20I series. He smiled and laughed in his usual way before wrapping up a rather short four-minute press meet on Wednesday.

Normally, the BCCI media manager must choose from among the numerous media persons who attend India matches. Most of the time, time is limited, and many questions go unanswered, but this did not appear to be the case or an issue on Wednesday.

IND v AUS 2023: "This is truly inexplicable, he should have led the side"- Shashi Tharoor on Sanju Samson’s omission

A pre-series media briefing with Australia captain Matthew Wade appears to have not taken place. There is no clarity on whether it was due to low media turnout.

Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, and Prasidh Krishna are the only members of India’s World Cup squad who have been included in the squad for the T20Is. Shreyas Iyer will join the squad after the third T20I.

For Australia, the likes of Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Sean Abbott, Adam Zampa, and Josh Inglis will feature in this series having clinched the ODI World Cup.


By Jatin Sharma - 23 Nov, 2023

    Share Via