Smriti Mandhana powers India Women’s team to a emphatic win over South Africa Women in 1st ODI

Jhulan Goswami and Shikha Pandey picked 7 wickets between them.

Jhulan Goswami (4/24) and Shikha Pandey (3/23) were the chief wicket takers for Indian team

India Women’s team and South Africa Women’s team played the first ODI of the ICC Women's Championship at Kimberly.

India Women batted first after Mithali Raj won the toss. Indian opener Smriti Mandhana scored 84 runs in 98 balls with 8 fours and 1 six. Mithali Raj scored 45 runs in 70 balls and added 99 runs for the second wicket.

India Women’s team was however bogged down by some accurate bowling from South African bowlers. Ayabonga Khaka picked up 2/47, including both the openers Raut and Mandhana. Marizanne Kapp picked 2/26 including the dangerous Harmanpreet Kaur for 16 runs.

India Women put up 213/7 in 50 overs.

South African team must have total was easily in their grasp, but India’s opening quick bowler Shikhar Pandey shattered their hopes with 3 quick wickets including Trisha Chetty, Mignon du Preez and Lizelle Lee. South Africa Women were left 23/3.

Laura Wolvaardt scored 21 and captain Dane van Niekerk scored 41 in 88 balls. But Indian bowlers kept the pressure on. Then the experienced Jhulan Goswami took over and picked 4/24 and along with Poonam Yadav’s 2/22, demolished the South African batting and ended their innings at 125.

India Women won the first ODI by 88 runs. Smriti Mandhana won the player of the match award for her innings.


IND-W 213/7 (S MANDHANA 84, M RAJ 45; M KAPP 2/26) def SA-W 125 (D VAN NIEKERK 45; J GOSWAMI 4/24, S PANDEY 3/23) by 88 runs.


By Jatin Sharma - 05 Feb, 2018

    Share Via