Syed Mushtaq Ali 2018 Trophy: Unmukt Chand and Sangwan lead Delhi to title win over Rajasthan

Delhi and Rajasthan reached the finals of the tournament.

Aditya Garhwal hit a fifty for Rajasthan in the chase

Delhi and Rajasthan met in the finals of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018 at the Eden Gardens.

Delhi won the toss and captain Pradeep Sangwan decided to bat first. Gautam Gambhir (27 in 23 balls with 4 fours and 1 six) and Rishabh Pant (13 in 7 balls) gave Delhi a quick start with 41 runs in first 5 overs. Khalil Ahmed (2/23) and Rahul Chahar (2/31) put the brakes on Delhi scoring and only Unmukt Chand (53 in 49 balls with 4 fours and 2 sixes) hit out after that.

Delhi scored 153/6 in their 20 overs.

Rajasthan had to chase down a mediocre target but Delhi bowlers proved to be too good for Rajasthan batting lineup. Aditya Garhwal hit 52 in 36 balls with 8 fours and Mahipal Lomror hit 17. Rest of the batting fell apart as Sangwan (2/14), Khejroliya (2/24) and Negi (2/21) decimated Rajasthan.

Finally, Rajasthan folded for 112 and lost the final by 41 runs. Delhi captain Pradeep Sangwan won the Man of the match.


DELHI 153/6 (U CHAND 53; K AHMED 2/23) defeated RAJASTHAN 112 (A GARHWAL 52; SANGWAN 2/14) by 41 runs to win the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018


By Jatin Sharma - 26 Jan, 2018

    Share Via