Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018: 23rd January – Rajasthan’s Deepak Chahar blows Karnataka away; TN, Bengal win, Punjab loses

Results summary of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy 2018.

Indian domestic cricket’s premier T20 tournament, the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018 has reached the super league stage of the tournament. This super league will feature the top 10 teams divided into 2 groups and playing against each other.

Here is the summary of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2018, Super League matches:

UTTAR PRADESH 162/4 lost to TAMIL NADU 163/5 by 5 wkts

Raina continued his good form

Uttar Pradesh scored 162/4 batting first against Tamil Nadu. Shivam Chaudhary hit 38 and Suresh Raina continued his good form, scoring 61 in 41 balls with 7 fours and 1 six. Akshdeep Nath took scored 38* in 28 balls with 5 fours.

TN chased down the total easily losing just 5 wickets. Sanjay Yadav hit 52 in 32 balls with 3 sixes. Bharat Shankar (30 off 19 balls) and N Jagadeeshan (20* off 11 balls) were the other major scorers for TN in their 5 wicket win. Mohsin Khan took 2/20 for UP.

DELHI 167/8 lost to BENGAL 170/6 by 3 runs

Bengal batted first and scored 170/6. Sudip Chatterjee (51 off 34 balls), Goswami (26 off 18 balls), Manoj Tiwary (25 off 16 balls) were the main contributors for Bengal. Kulwant Khejroliya picked 2/25 for Delhi.

Dhruv Shorey tried his best to keep Delhi in the chase

Delhi had a horrid start to their chase, losing their openers for single digit scores. Dhruv Shorey hit 84 off 46 balls with 4 sixes and 7 fours to keep Delhi in the game. But only Lalit Yadav, who made 45 in 29 balls, was able to hang on with him. Kanishk Sheth (3/25) and Sayan Ghosh (3/24) were the main damagers for Bengal.

Delhi fell 3 runs short of the target in the end.

RAJASTHAN 160/8 beat KARNATAKA 138 by 22 runs

58 from Ankit Lamba and 28 from Aditya Garhwal in just 19 balls were the main scores in the Rajasthan’s final score of 160/8. Sreenath Arvind picked 3/25 and R Vinay Kumar picked (2/29) were the main wicket takers for Karnataka.

Deepak Chahar (5/15) blew Karnataka away

However, Deepak Chahar ran through the Karnataka batting lineup with 5/15. Karnataka were 30/6 before Aniruddha hit 73 off 45 balls with 3 sixes and 8 fours and K Gowtham with 12 was the only other batsman to reach double figures from Karnataka.

Rajasthan registered a comfortable 22 runs win. 

PUNJAB 149/7 lost to JHARKHAND 150/6 by 4 wkts

Punjab batted first and hit 149/7 in 20 overs. Jharkhand bowled extremely well, especially captain Varun Aaron, who picked 2/20 and Kaushal Singh, who picked 3/26 in their four-over spells. Mandeep Singh hit 48 off 35 balls with 6 sixes and 1 four, while Abhishek Gupta (31* off 19 balls) and Manpreet Gony (25 off 15 balls) provided last overs fireworks. Yuvraj Singh had a dismal match, making 17 runs off 33 balls.

Kaushal Singh hit 29 and took 3 wickets for Jharkhand vs. Punjab

Jharkhand needed a good start and Ishan Kishan (54 off 29 balls; 8x4s, 2x6s) provided them that start. But Sran (2/19) and Harbhajan (1/21) and Kaul (1/17 in 4 overs) kept Punjab in the hunt with regular wickets. Kaushal Singh hit 29 off 31 balls and Saurabh Tiwary hit 24 off 22 balls.

But Vikash hit a four to win the match for Jharkhand by 4 wkts and Punjab was left to rue missed chances and poor fielding.

By Jatin Sharma - 23 Jan, 2018

    Share Via