Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 2018: 14th January - Results summary

Results summary of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy 2018.

Mayank Agarwal

Indian domestic cricket’s premier T20 tournament Syed Mushtaq Ali is underway, with the top T20 stars of Indian cricket participating in the event. The tournament was brought forward in order to showcase the domestic talent for the upcoming IPL 2018 auctions.

Here is the summary of January 14 matches results:

PUNJAB 141 lost to J&K 164/3 by 23 runs

J&K batted first and thanks to 43* by Ian Chauhan (7 fours and 1 six), 38* from Manzoor Dar; reached 164/4. Their openers Bandeep Singh (33) and Jatin Wadhwan (35) added 63 runs for the first wicket. Harbhajan Singh picked 2/12.

Waseem Raza

Punjab’s chase was derailed by Waseem Raza’s 4/16 as only Manan Vohra (53 in 46 balls) and Gurkeerat Mann (34 in 18 balls) were the main scorers for them. Yuvraj Singh got out for 4 runs, while Mandeep looked good for his 12 runs. Punjab ultimately fell short by 23 runs.

ASSAM 148/6 lost to JHARKHAND 149/2 by 8 wkts

Ishank Jaggi

Sibshankar Roy’s 52 (7 fours, 1 six) and Amit Sinha’s 40 (2 fours, 2 sixes) took Assam to 148/6. Monu Kumar took 3/23 for Jharkhand. Ishank Jaggi (68* in 37 balls; 9 fours, 2 sixes) and Ishan Kishan (36; 8 fours) were the cornerstones of Jharkhand’s reply, as they reached the target with 8 wickets in hand.

ANDHRA 201/4 defeated GOA 183/6 by 18 runs

Ashwin Hebbar (52 off 37 balls; 4 sixes), Hanuma Vihari (57 off 39 balls; 4 fours) and Ricky Bhui (65 off 34 balls; 5 sixes) took Andhra to 201/4 in 20 overs. Swapnil Asnodkar hit 72 in 50 balls with 7 fours and 3 sixes in the chase. Sagun Kamat hit 43 in 27 balls with 6 fours and Amogh Desai hit 30, but the rest of the batting failed to build on this foundation as Andhra bowlers stopped Goa at 183/6 and won the match by 18 runs.

KARNATAKA 181/6 defeated KERALA 161 by 20 runs
(Karnataka qualify for next round)

Mayank Agarwal

Mayank Agarwal hit a sublime 86 off 58 balls with 9 fours and 3 sixes. R Samarth (27) and K Gowtham (21 off 12) took Karnataka to 181/6. Kerala had a decent start to their chase, with Sanju Samson hitting 71 in 41 balls with 8 fours and 3 sixes. Vishnu Vinod gave him support with 46 off 26 balls with 7 fours, but Pravin Dubey’s 3/35 and Vinay Kumar’s 2/22 dismantled Kerala middle order and won the match by 20 runs.

DELHI 148/0 defeated HIMACHAL 144/8 by 10 wkts

Rishabh Pant

Delhi’s match against Himachal was all about the record breaking Rishabh Pant century. Himachal batted first and score 144/8 with Nikhil Gangta making 40 and Prashant Chopra making 30. The total was made to look a joke as Rishabh Pant smoked 12 sixes and 8 fours in his innings of 116* off just 38 balls. He reached his century off just 32 balls, making this the second fastest century in all T20s. Chris Gayle holds the record of fastest T20 century off just 30 balls.

Pant broke Rohit Sharma’s record and now is the Indian with the fastest century in T20s, beating Rohit’s record of 35 balls. Gautam Gambhir supported Pant with 30* and Delhi won the match by 10 wickets.

CHHATTISGARH 150/7 lost to MADHYA PRADESH 154/5 by 5 wkts

AN Khare hit 47 in 45 balls and Vishal Singh hit 32 in 15 balls, as CG hit 150/7 against MP. Avesh Khan took 3/29 for MP. Naman Ojha hit 58 in 41 balls with 4 sixes and then Sohraab Dhaliwal (27*) and Parth Sahani (21*) took MP to the win by 5 wickets.

BENGAL 170/1 defeated TRIPURA 169/4 by 9 wkts

Shreevats Goswami

SK Patel’s 73 off 51 balls with 11 fours and score of 20 odd from UU Bose, Yashpal Singh and Gurinder Singh took Tripura to 169/4. However Shreevats Goswami (82* off 57 with 9 fours and 3 sixes) and Vivek Singh with 71 off 43 balls with 7 fours and 3 sixes took Bengal to an astonishing 9 wicket win.

TAMIL NADU 193/7 defeated HYDERABAD 177/8 by 16 runs

Sanjay Yadav (42; 3 sixes, 2 fours) and Vijay Shankar (40; 4 sixes) were the main scorers in TN’s 193/7. Mehdi Hasan took 3/40.  Hyderabad were in the chase with Tanmay Agarwal hitting 57 off 35 balls with 5 fours and 2 sixes and Ambati Rayudu’s 53 off 34 balls with 4 sixes. But wickets in middle order meant that they fell behind and despite Ravi Teja making 29 off 16 with 2 fours and 2 sixes; Hyderabad fell short by 16 runs. Washington Sundar took 3/29, while A Davidson took 2/24 to take TN to victory.  



By Jatin Sharma - 14 Jan, 2018

    Share Via