ENG v IND 2021: Suryakumar Yadav and Prithvi Shaw leave for England from Colombo

The duo will have to quarantine in the UK as well.

Suryakumar Yadav and Prithvi Shaw leave for England | Instagram

India players Suryakumar Yadav and Prithvi Shaw on Tuesday (August 3) departed for the United Kingdom (UK) to join the Indian cricket team for the upcoming five-match Test series against England starting on Wednesday (August 4) at Trent Bridge.

They were called up for the England tour after Shubman Gill, Washington Sundar, and Avesh Khan were ruled out of the series due to different injuries.

Initially, Yadav and Shaw were supposed to leave Colombo soon after the T20I series got over, but their trip got delayed by a few days after Krunal Pandya tested positive for COVID-19 last week, and they were amongst the 9 players who were identified as close contacts of the all-rounder.

Both cricketers were quarantining in Colombo with 7 other India players and on Tuesday, they finally took the flight for Nottingham to join the Indian team ahead of the Test series against England.

Read Also: ENG v IND 2021: Virat Kohli says, “I want us to go for the win and not surrender; for us, it is pursuit for excellence”

On Tuesday, Suryakumar took to his Instagram handle to share a couple of pictures of him and Shaw to confirm that they left for the UK for the Test series.

He captioned the post by saying: “Counting my blessings. Next stop, England,”


Meanwhile, Suryakumar and Prithvi are expected to straightaway head to Nottingham after reaching London and will serve hard quarantine before they are available for selection in the Test series. This means they will only be available from the third Test onwards.

India Test squad:

Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Md. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav


By Rashmi Nanda - 03 Aug, 2021

    Share Via