Sri Lanka announces Asia Cup 2023 squad; Wanindu Hasaranga misses out due to injury

Sri Lanka will host the final of the Asia Cup 2023 on September 17.

Dasun Shanaka | GettySri Lanka Cricket (SLC), on August 29, 2023, announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming Asia Cup tournament which they will co-host with Pakistan and which begins on August 30.

Pakistan will host 4 matches including the curtain raiser against Nepal and Sri Lanka will host the rest of the games including ones involving India and the final on September 17.

Sri Lanka is the defending champions of the Asia Cup having won the tournament in UAE last year when it was played in the T20 format. But this year, the Asia Cup will be played in ODI format as preparation for the ICC World Cup 2023 which begins on October 5 in India.

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka is the last of the participating teams to announce its squad as the selectors were grappling with players getting injured. They lost the services of key pacers Dushmantha Chameera and Lahiru Kumara along with Dilshan Madushanka for the tournament.

But the biggest blow to their chances came when star spinner Wanindu Hasaranga suffered a thigh injury during the LPL 2023 and has not been named in the Asia Cup squad to give him ample time to recover for the World Cup.

BCCI President Roger Binny, VP Rajeev Shukla to attend Asia Cup 2023 opening ceremony, confirms PCB chief Zaka Ashraf

Dasun Shanaka will captain the Sri Lankan side with Kusal Mendis as his deputy. Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, and Kusal Perera, who is recovering from flu, have been named in the top-order batting unit.

Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva along Shanaka are the all-rounders on the team.

In the absence of Hasaranga, the spin department will be led by Maheesh Theekshana with Dunith Wellalage, and Dushan Hemantha for support.

With two of their fastest bowlers out injured, Sri Lanka will have to depend on the experience of Kasun Rajitha and the speed of Matheesha Pathirana to do the work for them. Apart from them, pacers Binura Fernando and Pramod Madushan were added to the squad as well.

The Honorable Minister of Sports and Youth, Roshan Ranasinghe, gave his approval for the squad.

Sri Lanka Asia Cup 2023 squad:

Dasun Shanaka (C), Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis (VC), Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Matheesha Pathirana, Kasun Rajitha, Dusan Hemantha, Binura Fernando, Pramod Madushan


By Jatin Sharma - 29 Aug, 2023

    Share Via