BCCI announces India’s 15-member squad for Women’s T20 Asia Cup 2022

India will open their Women’s Asia Cup campaign against Sri Lanka on October 1.

Indian women's cricket team | GettyThe Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday (September 21) announced India’s squad for the upcoming Women’s T20 Asia Cup, slated to be held in Bangladesh from October 1 to October 15.

The 15-member squad features Harmanpreet Kaur as captain while Smriti Mandhana will play the role of a deputy.

Besides the skipper and vice-captain, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Sabbineni Meghana, Dayalan Hemalatha and KP Navgire are the other batters picked in the side.

Richa Ghosh is the designated wicketkeeper in the squad while Renuka Singh, Meghna Singh and Pooja Vastrakar will form the pace attack.

All-rounder Deepti Sharma is also part of the squad whereas Radha Yadav, Sneh Rana and Rajeshwari Gayakwad are the spin options in the team.

The All-India Women’s Selection Committee has also picked two standby players in Taniya Bhatia and Simran Dil Bahadur.

India will begin their Women’s Asia Cup campaign on the opening day against Sri Lanka. They will next face Malaysia (October 3) and UAE (October 4) on successive days before locking horns with arch-rivals Pakistan on October 7.

Harmanpreet Kaur and company will play hosts Bangladesh on October 8 while their last round robin match is against Thailand on October 10.

India's Squad for Women's Asia Cup: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Deepti Sharma, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Sabbineni Meghana, Richa Ghosh (wicket-keeper), Sneh Rana, Dayalan Hemalatha, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Radha Yadav, K.P. Navgire

Standby players: Taniyaa Sapna Bhatia, Simran Dil Bahadur


By Salman Anjum - 21 Sep, 2022

    Share Via