RCB unveils new logo for their newly acquired Women’s Premier League (WPL) franchise

RCB bought the Bengaluru franchise of WPL for INR 901 crores.

RCB owners with the letter of owning the new WPL team | RCB TwitterThe BCCI, on Wednesday, January 25, 2023, unveiled the names of the successful bidders for the upcoming Women’s T20 league, which they have named the Women’s Premier League or WPL.

In a tweet, BCCI confirmed that the franchises based in Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Delhi, and Lucknow will own teams in the WPL.

Adani Sportsline Pvt. Ltd and Indiawin Sports Pvt. Ltd secured the ownership rights of Ahmedabad and Mumbai while the teams from Bengaluru, Delhi, and Lucknow were bought by Royal Challengers Sports Pvt. Ltd, JSW GMR Cricket Pvt. Ltd and Capri Global Holdings Pvt. Ltd, respectively.

The Bengaluru franchise was bought by RCB for INR 901 crores and the group took to their social media handles to announce the same by introducing a new logo for their newly bought team.

BCCI announces successful bidders for Women's Premier League teams

Breaking barriers, making history, and playing bold! Royal Challengers Bangalore are the proud owners of the Bengaluru Women’s Premier League Team,” the franchise wrote while attaching image of the new logo featuring pictogram of the female gender sign.

The player auction is expected to be held in February, with the WPL 2023 expected to be played in March. 


By Jatin Sharma - 25 Jan, 2023

    Share Via