Jhulan Goswami set to retire after England ODI series; to get farewell at Lord's - Report

Jhulan Goswami is set to retire from international cricket in September 2022.

Jhulan Goswami | Getty Images

India women's cricket legend Jhulan Goswami is all set to retire from international cricket next month on the upcoming tour of England. The veteran pacer was named in India's squad for the three-match ODI series against England Women on Friday (August 19).

As reported by ESPNCricinfo, Goswami will retire from international cricket at Lord's after the third and final ODI at Lord’s on September 24. A top BCCI official said that the board was keen on giving Goswami a proper farewell, as she couldn't say goodbye on the field after picking up a side strain in the Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 earlier this year, and then a fitness issue forced her to miss the Sri Lanka tour.

However, the pacer is now fit and ready to travel to England with the team, and the BCCI official said that the final ODI against England Women at Lord’s "will be her last" appearance at the highest level.

Read Also: Twitterati slam Barmy Army for taking a jibe at Virat Kohli over his century drought

It is being said that Indian team management had spoken to Goswami about looking to the future and building a pool of young fast bowlers who could play in all three formats of the game. She has reportedly kept herself available for the inaugural edition of the women's IPL in February-March 2023.

Goswami has played 12 Tests, 68 T20 internationals, and 201 ODIs and scalped 44, 56, and 252 wickets respectively in her career so far. She made her India debut at the age of 19 in March 2002.

Notably, India will play three T20Is in England on September 10, 13, and 15, followed by three ODIs, which are part of the ICC Women's Championship, on September 18, 21, and 24, respectively.

India Women ODI squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, S Meghana, Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Yastika Bhatia (wk), Pooja Vastrakar, Sneh Rana, Renuka Singh, Meghna Singh, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Harleen Deol, Dayalan Hemalatha, Simran Dil Bahadur, Jhulan Goswami, Jemimah Rodrigues.

India Women T20I squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (Vice-captain), Shafali Verma, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Jemimah Rodrigues, Sneh Rana, Renuka Thakur, Meghna Singh, Radha Yadav, Sabbineni Meghana, Taniyaa Sapna Bhatia (WK), Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Dayalan Hemalatha, Simran Dil Bahadur, Richa Ghosh (WK), K.P. Navgire.


By Rashmi Nanda - 20 Aug, 2022

    Share Via