ENGW v INDW 2021: England Women name squad for ODI series against India

Freya Davies and Sarah Glenn are back in England squad.

England will play three ODIs against India | Getty Images

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) on Wednesday (June 23) announced the 16-member Women’s squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against India Women starting on June 27 (Sunday).

While Sophia Dunkley has been handed a maiden ODI call-up, Freya Davies and Sarah Glenn have been recalled to the England Women team for the ODI series.

England head coach Lisa Keightley stated in an official release by ECB: “We're looking forward to playing ODI cricket again after a hugely enjoyable and hard-fought Test match.

The competition for places across all formats is growing every time we meet to select a squad. The options available to us are the strongest we've had since I've been in the role and we feel this group gives us a great opportunity for success in the ODI element of the series.

Read Also: ENGW v INDW 2021: Heather Knight calls England-India match a brilliant advertisement for Test cricket

There's no space on this occasion for Danni Wyatt and Georgia Elwiss, and while I know they're both disappointed to miss out, it's important that they're given the opportunity to play cricket at a regional level ahead of the Vitality IT20 series. We have to balance the needs of the squad and the need of the individual and we'll always be keen to get people playing competitive cricket where we can.”

Noteworthy, each ODI of the three-match series between England and India will be worth two points. The first ODI at Bristol on Sunday is followed by the second ODI at Taunton on June 30 and the third and final ODI at Worcester on July 3.

England Women's Squad for ODI Series against India:

Heather Knight (Western Storm, captain), Emily Arlott (Central Sparks), Tammy Beaumont (Lightning), Katherine Brunt (Northern Diamonds), Kate Cross (Thunder), Freya Davies (South East Stars), Sophia Dunkley (South East Stars), Sophie Ecclestone (Thunder), Tash Farrant (South East Stars), Sarah Glenn (Central Sparks), Amy Jones (Central Sparks), Nat Sciver (Northern Diamonds, vice-captain), Anya Shrubsole (Western Storm), Mady Villiers (Sunrisers), Fran Wilson (Sunrisers), and Lauren Winfield-Hill (Northern Diamonds).

(With ANI Inputs)


By Rashmi Nanda - 23 Jun, 2021

    Share Via