Irfan Pathan picks Hardik Pandya in his India squad for T20 World Cup 2024 based on one condition

India’s squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup is likely to be announced next week.

Hardik Pandya has bowled only 17 overs in MI's eight IPL 2024 games so far | GettyThere is a lot of buzz around the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2024, slated to be held in the West Indies and USA from June 1 to June 29.

With barely a month remaining for the global showpiece tournament, the cricket experts are busy in picking their squads for the participating teams.

Former all-rounder Irfan Pathan is the latest to join the bandwagon as he named India’s 15-member squad for the marquee event.

In his squad, Pathan included Hardik Pandya but on one condition. He said Pandya's inclusion depends on his bowling fitness.

While leading Mumbai Indians (MI) in the ongoing IPL season, all-rounder Hardik has failed to live up to the expectations, particularly in the bowling department. He has bowled in 6 out of 8 games so far, claiming only 4 wickets while conceding runs at an economy rate of 10.94.

"My squad for the World Cup. 1) Rohit Sharma (C) 2) Yashasvi Jaiswal 3) Virat Kohli 4) Surya Kumar Yadav 5) Rishabh pant (wk) 6) Shivam Dube 7) Hardik Pandya provided he is bowling regularly 8)Rinku singh 9)Ravindra jadeja 10) Kuldeep Yadav 11)Jasprit Bumrah 12)Arshdeep singh 13)Mohammed Siraj 14)Ravi Bishnoi/Yuzi chahal 15) shubhman gill/ sanju Samson Travelling reserves. 2 Fast bowlers, wicket keeper, batsman." Pathan shared his squad on X.

Speaking on Star Sports, former India batter Ambati Rayudu also picked his Team India squad for the T20 World Cup. His squad surprisingly features only one allrounder in the form of Ravindra Jadeja while he also selected young pace sensation Mayank Yadav in the side.

The middle-order batter slots are up for grabs and Rayudu opted to go with in-form players like Riyan Parag and Shivam Dube, while preferring veteran Dinesh Karthik over Rishabh Pant or KL Rahul for the wicketkeeper-batter’s role.

Ambati Rayudu's India squad for T20 World Cup 2024:

Rohit Sharma (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Riyan Parag, Rinku Singh, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh, Mayank Yadav


By Salman Anjum - 24 Apr, 2024

    Share Via