Uganda makes history as they qualify for T20 World Cup 2024; final 20 teams confirmed for the event

Zimbabwe failed to qualify for the T20 WC 2024.

Uganda and Namibia qualified for the T20 World Cup 2024 from Africa region| ICCUganda created history by joining Namibia in qualifying for the T20 World Cup 2024 from the Africa Region Qualifier.  With five wins from their six games, Uganda has ensured a top-two finish and booked their tickets for the ICC event in the West Indies and the USA.

Uganda beat Rwanda in their last round of matches and while Zimbabwe looked on course to win their final fixture against Nigeria, they missed the flight once Uganda won their game. After asking Rwanda to bat and dismissing them for 65 in 18.5 overs, Uganda reached their target in 8.1 overs.

Zimbabwe has had a horror run in ICC events, missing out on the ICC World Cup in 2019 and 2023. They couldn't take part in the 2021 T20 World Cup, because Zimbabwe Cricket had been suspended at the time by the ICC for government interference in its cricket administration.

“India not winning T20 World Cup after 2007 huge disappointment”- Gavaskar urges India to make tough decisions

Uganda had even defeated Zimbabwe in the Qualifiers, their first win over a Test nation. Uganda’s bowling effort led by Dinesh Nakrani (3/14), restricted Zimbabwe to 136/7 with skipper Sikandar Raza’s 48* being the highest score.

During the chase, Riazat Ali Shah (42) and Alpesh Ramjani (40) starred with the bat as Uganda registered a comfortable five-wicket win. On the other hand, Zimbabwe, who suffered losses at the hands of Namibia and Uganda, missed out on the bus to the T20 event.

With Uganda and Namibia qualifying, all the 20 teams for the T20 World Cup 2024 have been confirmed.

Here are the teams:

(ICC inputs)


By Jatin Sharma - 30 Nov, 2023

    Share Via