T20 World Cup 2022: Left-arm pacers Mukesh Choudhary and Chetan Sakariya to go to Perth with Indian squad- Report

India will also take Umran Malik and Kuldeep Sen as net bowlers to Australia.

Mukesh Choudhary and Chetan Sakariya | TwitterThe Indian team will travel to Perth to prepare for the T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia on October 6. The 15-member squad minus Jasprit Bumrah will leave for Australia a week early to get acclimatized to the conditions they will encounter Down Under.

While the standby players will leave for Perth - where the Indian team will have its first camp - a week later as the likes of Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, and Deepak Chahar are part of the ODI squad for the South Africa series which ends on October 11.

The Indian team will also include four backup options or net bowlers in their contingent.

And as per the Sportstar report, Mukesh Choudhary and Chetan Sakariya, both left-handed fast bowlers have been added to the contingent along with Umran Malik and Kuldeep Sen.

"We are awaiting the official confirmation,” Rahul Dravid on Bumrah’s availability for T20 World Cup 2022

Deepak Chahar, Ravi Bishnoi, Shreyas Iyer, and Mohammed Siraj will join the Indian squad straight in Brisbane where they will play two warmup matches on October 17 and 19.

The Indian team is still fretting over the fitness of Jasprit Bumrah, who reportedly has been diagnosed with a 'stress reaction' to his back and is expected to take 4-6 weeks to recover completely. The management has decided to play the waiting game when it comes to Bumrah as no replacement has been announced.

India's T20 World Cup squad: 

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (WK), Dinesh Karthik (WK), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Akshar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh

Standby players:  Mohammad Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, and Deepak Chahar

(Sportstar report)


By Jatin Sharma - 03 Oct, 2022

    Share Via