T20 World Cup 2021: ICC announces the Most Valuable Team of the Tournament

The team was chosen by ICC panel consisting on commentators and journalist.

Australia won their maiden T20 World Cup | GettyThe International Cricket Council (ICC), on the completion of an excellent T20 World Cup 2021 tournament in the UAE, hosted by India, released their pick of the most valuable team of the tournament.

The 45 matches of the tournament saw countless incredible performances from the players and the ICC-appointed panel of commentators Ian Bishop, Natalie Germanos, and Shane Watson, and journalists Lawrence Booth and journalists Shahid Hashmi had the task of choosing the 11 best players.

T20 World Cup 2021: “Yeah, it was a little bit frustrating”, says Williamson after New Zealand’s 3rd ICC trophy final loss

David Warner, Jos Buttler, and Babar Azam were chosen to be the top order of the team of the tournament. One notable name missing was that of Pakistan keeper-batter Mohammad Rizwan.

Mohammad Rizwan was not included | GettyIan Bishop said on Rizwan’s exclusion: “The top three in the order were so outstanding that we could not leave any of them out. Notable absentees include Mohammed Rizwan who was simply outstanding and courageous in his performance. However, we could not fit him into the team too far outside of the opening position where he is most suited and successful, nor ahead of those selected.”

The middle-order saw the likes of Aiden Markram, Charith Asalanka, and Moeen Ali, who was a surprise pick ahead of the likes of Mitchell Marsh, who played a brilliant 77*-run knock to help Australia beat New Zealand in the final.

COC presents the Team of the T20 World Cup 2021

"The panel also saw the impressive young talent of Charith Asalanka and Aiden Markram as a real bonus for the team and their countries in this tournament. Moeen Ali was selected as that utility all-rounder who could be applied with the bat to various match situations and innings requirements. He also offered a more than substantial bowling option,” Bishop said.

Shaheen Afridi was named the 12th man | GettyWanindu Hasaranga and Adam Zampa were chosen as the spinners in the team, while Josh Hazlewood, Trent Boult, and Anrich Nortje were named as the three pacers in the team of the tournament.

However, Pakistan’s Shaheen Afridi was chosen as the 12th man and on his selection, Bishop said: “The bowling group was felt to select itself. Three seamers who excelled and two outstanding leg spinners in Hasaranga and Zampa. The panel was impressed with Shaheen Shah Afridi’s bowling at 21 years of age and we felt compelled to institute him as the optional player in the 12-player squad.

ICC Most Valuable Team of the T20 World Cup 2021 Tournament:

David Warner, Jos Buttler, Babar Azam, Charith Asalanka, Aiden Markram, Moeen Ali, Wanindu Hasaranga, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Trent Boult, Anrich Nortje, Shaheen Afridi (12th man)

(ICC inputs)


By Jatin Sharma - 15 Nov, 2021

    Share Via