Shardul Thakur replaces Akshar Patel in Indian T20 World Cup 2021 squad

India will play Pakistan in their tournament opener on October 24.

Shardul Thakur | Getty

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), on Wednesday, October 13, 2021, announced that the All-India Senior Selection Committee after a discussion with the Indian team management has added Shardul Thakur to the main squad.

All-rounder Akshar Patel, who was part of the 15-member squad will now be on the list of standby players.

WATCH- Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and other India players talk about the new Indian team jersey

The BCCI also confirmed that some players from the ongoing IPL 2021 will be joining the team bubble in Dubai and assist Team India in their preparations. These players are Avesh Khan, Umran Malik, Harshal Patel, Lukman Meriwala, Venkatesh Iyer, Karn Sharma, Shahbaz Ahmed, and K. Gowtham.

Updated India’s squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2021:

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami

Stand-by players: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Akshar Patel

(BCCI inputs)


By Jatin Sharma - 13 Oct, 2021

    Share Via