SA v IND 2018: 1st T20 – India looks to continue domination against a new look Proteas side

The first T20I will be played in Johannesburg.

JP Duminy will lead South Africa in the T20I series | Reuters

India will move on from a 5-1 ODI series win to the three match T20I series against South Africa. The first match will be played in Johannesburg between the two teams.

South Africa is still smarting from the 5-1 defeat in the ODI and will be looking to avenge their humiliation. JP Duminy will lead the T20I team which will see some fresh faces in Junior Dala, Reeza Hendricks, Christiaan Jonker, Dane Paterson and JJ Smuts; with some of them having previous experience of playing for South Africa.

India on the other hand has called back Suresh Raina into the T20I team, after more than a year to give him a chance to cement his place in the team. Also making an appearance in the squad will be KL Rahul, Shardul Thakur, who picked 4 wickets in the last ODI and Jaydev Unadkat, who returns to the country in which he made his Test debut in 2010.

The T20I series will be a high octane action series with both teams having good firepower and bowlers who have a proven track record in the T20 format. However, South Africa team will miss the likes of Lungi Ngidi and Kagiso Rabada.

The first encounter at Johannesburg will set the tone for an exciting for the entire series with India and South Africa both wanting to end the tour on a winning note.

Toss: South Africa have won the toss and have opted to field

Playing XI:   

India : Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, MS Dhoni(w), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah

South Africa : JJ Smuts, Reeza Hendricks, Jean-Paul Duminy(c), David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Heinrich Klaasen(w), Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dane Paterson, Junior Dala, Tabraiz Shamsi


By Jatin Sharma - 18 Feb, 2018

    Share Via