James Sutherland expects banned trio to regain fans' trust

Warner and Smith have also opted out from IPL 2018.

Smith, Warner and Bancroft all 3 have been sanctioned by CA. (Cricket Australia)

Discarded and banned Australian international cricketers, namely Steve Smith, David Warner and Cameron Bancroft are under the purview of Cricket Australia. 

Their infamous involvement in the ball tampering scandal has tainted the image of Cricket Australia and as players, they have lost the support of the fans. 

Cricket Australia Chief James Sutherland expects the Australian trio to rebuild their lost trust among the fans. 

The trio had the right to appeal against the charges handed out by Cricket Australia (CA), but decided not to challenge their punishment for the Newlands debacle.

CA chief executive Sutherland said: "The events of Cape Town have severely affected the game."

"It has also been humbling to be reminded of the passion all Australians have for our great game.

"These are significant penalties for professional cricketers. They were not imposed lightly."

"We know the players will return to playing the game they love, and in doing so, we hope they rebuild their careers and regain the trust of fans."

Warner tweeted on Thursday: "I have today let Cricket Australia know that I fully accept the sanctions imposed on me."

"I am truly sorry for my actions and will now do everything I can to be a better person, team-mate and role model."

Meanwhile, both Warner and Steve Smith have ruled themselves out from the Indian Premier League 2018. Both Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals had Warner and Smith retained as their skippers for this IPL, however, their ban has made the franchises to re-elect their captains. While Kane Williamson has been elected to lead SRH for the season, Ajinkya Rahane will lead the Royals in absence of Smith. 


By Anshuman Roy - 05 Apr, 2018

    Share Via