SA v IND 2023-24: Tough to beat South Africa at home, Jacques Kallis warns Team India ahead of all-format tour

India will play three T20Is, three ODIs and two Tests on the tour of South Africa.

India are yet to win a Test series on South African soil | GettyTeam India are all set to visit South Africa for an all-format series, comprising three T20Is, three ODIs and two Tests.

Ahead of the all-important tour, South African legend Jacques Kallis has said that it's challenging to beat the Proteas on their home turf even though India possesses a strong team.

India are yet to win a Test series on South African soil. During their last visit to the country in 2021-22, they lost the three-match Test series 2-1 and suffered a 3-0 whitewash in the ODI series.

"This is a good Indian team, but South Africa is tough to beat in South Africa. Centurion will probably suit South Africa and Newlands will probably suit India. I think it will be a good series, and it will come down to one or two sessions that one team might play better than the other. I think it would be a closely fought contest," Kallis told PTI.

There will be three captains in as many formats for the Indian team on the tour of South Africa. While Rohit Sharma will lead the Test side, Suryakumar Yadav will captain in the T20I series. KL Rahul has been chosen as the skipper for the ODI series.

The match-anticipated series is slated to get underway on December 10 with the shortest format. The T20I series will conclude on December 14 while the ODI series will be played from December 17 to December 21.

Two Test matches will end India's trip of South Africa. Centurion will host the first Test from December 26 to 30 whereas the second Test will be played in Cape Town from January 3 to 7.

India Squad for South Africa T20Is:

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

India Squad for South Africa ODIs:

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Akshar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.

India Squad for South Africa Tests:

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohammad Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna.


By Salman Anjum - 06 Dec, 2023

    Share Via