PAK v AUS 2018: Different opinions over D'Arcy Short's run-out in the 2nd T20I

Glenn Maxwell has expressed disappointment with third umpire's decision against Short.

D'Arcy Short was given a questionable run-out decision against him | Twitter

In what always comes across as an unusual cricketing moment against the run of play, D'Arcy Short got run-out at the non-striker's end when spinner Imad Wasim got a finger to a return shot from Aaron Finch that ricocheted into the stumps, during the second T20I at Dubai. 

But what made it all the more eye-catching and sadly, controversial was the third-umpire Shozab Raza's decision, where the replays appeared to confirm that Short's bat was grounded when the bails were dislodged but he gave the left-hander out. 

This has inspired widespread debate, even among the players involved. 

Glenn Maxwell, who top scored with 52 in Australia's 11-run loss, reiterated that Short should not have been given out and that the whole dressing room shares this view. 

"We certainly had a view as a team that we thought his bat was clearly grounded behind the line, Maybe the third umpire pressed the wrong button. We've all made mistakes," Maxwell was quoted saying on Friday, October 27, "As we probably saw it in the change rooms, there wasn't really any doubt. I think if you even look at the way he's holding his bat, it's very hard to hold it above the line with the bat sitting out of his gloves."

But, Pakistan skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed disagrees and feels, "I don't know why (there was) so much reaction because clearly, it is out, The bat is not on the ground."

Pakistan clinched the three-match series before the final match on Sunday, October 28. 

(Inputs from


By Kashish Chadha - 27 Oct, 2018

    Share Via