PAK v AUS 2018: Aaron Finch to lead Australian T20 side against Pakistan

The T20I series will begin after the 2-match Test series between Pakistan and Australia.

Aaron Finch | GETTY

Aaron Finch is set to lead the Australian side for T20I series against Pakistan in United Araba Emirates (UAE). Mitchell Marsh and Alex Carey are appointed as the joint vice-captains for the T20I team.

"I've been extremely impressed with his impact on the Test squad over here in the UAE," coach Justin Langer said in a statement. "We know he's an exceptional player, and he's arguably the most in-form T20 player in the world at the moment."

Langer said batsman Chris Lynn and bowler Nathan Coulter-Nile were returning from injury after getting back in form.

"Lynn's... had an outstanding campaign in the JLT Cup to date and reminded us how explosive and powerful a cricketer he can be," he added.

In May 2018, the PCB invited Australia to play the fixtures in Pakistan, but Cricket Australia didn't agree. A month later, the PCB and the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) agreed to play Pakistan's future matches in the UAE.

The first T20I will be played on October 24 in Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi. The next two T20Is are scheduled to be played in Dubai International Cricket Stadium on October 26 and 28.

Australia T20I squad:
Aaron Finch (C), Mitch Marsh, Alex Carey, Ashton Agar, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Chris Lynn, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Darcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Mitch Starc, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.


By Sihyeu Singh - 05 Oct, 2018

    Share Via