JioTV bags exclusive Digital Broadcast Rights of Nidahas Trophy

Nidahas Trophy will be played from March 6 to 18 at Colombo.

Rohit Sharma speaks at press conference in Sri Lanka | Twitter

Reliance Jio's live television app JioTV –India’s leading Live TV App, have bagged the exclusive digital broadcast rights for live streaming the upcoming T20 International Tri-Nation Nidahas Trophy to be held in Sri Lanka.

JioTV, which had recently won the award for ‘Best Mobile Video Content’ at the Global Mobile (GLOMO) Awards 2018 along with the award for ‘Best Mobile Operator Service for Consumers’, have also bagged digital rights to broadcast the Winter Olympic Games PyeongChang 2018 in India last month.

Nidahas Trophy will be played from March 6 to 18 at Colombo between hosts Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and India. In the Tri-series, each team will play four matches and the top two teams following 6 matches will take on each other in the final to be held on March 18, 2018, in Colombo.

According to a report in Press Trust of India, Jio said in a statement, “After bringing two back-to-back major global sporting events - Winter Olympics 2018 and EFL Cup (Carabao Cup Final) - for Indian digital consumers in recent weeks, JioTV...has acquired the exclusive India digital rights for the upcoming T20 cricket series Nidahas Trophy.”

Meanwhile, Jerome Jayaratne, Chief Operating Officer, Sri Lanka Cricket said, “We are excited to partner with JioTV to bring in the action packed T20 series to Indian cricket fans, and look forward to connecting with the cricket consumers in the sub-continent.”

JioTV also said that it is working with Sri Lankan Cricket (SLC) to offer comprehensive coverage of the triangular series in India to access live and catch-up content on their mobile devices.

Nidahas trophy 2018 schedule

March 6, 2018 – Sri Lanka vs India

March 8, 2018 – India vs Bangladesh

March 10, 2018 – Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh

March 12, 2018 – Sri Lanka vs India

March 14, 2018 – India vs Bangladesh

March 16, 2018 – Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh

March 18, 2018 – Final

Team India is going into the tournament with a fresh and young side. Selectors have opted to give senior players Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni have been rested for the series while wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant, who has just two T20 international appearances, and rookie paceman Mohammed Siraj, 23, are being given the opportunity to gain international experience. The first match of the tournament will see favorites India take on hosts Sri Lanka on Tuesday evening.


By Rashmi Nanda - 06 Mar, 2018

    Share Via