BCCI announces squad for Nidahas T20 Tri-series 2018 in Sri Lanka

Selection committee rests key players for the T20 tri-series.

Team India announced for Nidahas T20I series | Getty

The Nidahas T20 Tri-series featuring India, Bangladesh and hosts Sri Lanka will be played in Sri Lanka from March 6th-March 18th. This series is being played to celebrate 70 years of Sri Lankan independence and all the games of the series will be played at R. Premadasa Stadium, in Colombo, Sri Lanka.

Team India will be coming off a long tour of South Africa which involved 3 Tests, 6 ODIs and 3 T20Is. It was a relatively successful tour to India. All of the Indian players got some good time out in the middle and the team management will be looking to give some players rest and manage the workload of the India fast bowlers.

Players like Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, MS Dhoni and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have had an extended work during the tour and they are on top of the list to be rested, thanks to the upcoming IPL 2018 season, where they both will be needed by their respective IPL teams.

BCCI selection committee headed by MSK Prasad took recent performances of the fringe players into consideration and some players who had a good outing in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy get a look in as well.

This will be Team India’s last international assignment before IPL 2018 begins from April 7, 2018.

Team India squad for Nidahas T20 Tri-series 2018:

Rohit Sharma (Capt), Shikhar Dhawan (vc), KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammad Siraj, Rishabh Pant (wk).



By Saurabh Malhotra - 25 Feb, 2018

    Share Via