NZ v SL 2018-19: Guptill returns as New Zealand announce squad for the ODI series

All-rounders Doug Bracewell and Jimmy Neesham have also been included for the three-match series kickstarting on January 3.

Guptill was sidelined with an injury for a while | Getty

Martin Guptill features in New Zealand's 13-man squad announced for the three-match ODI series against the visiting Sri Lankan side.

Guptill, who was sidelined for the whole tour of UAE with a serious injury, seems to have finally recovered and has been slotted back into the Kane Williamson led side immediately.

The development was officially confirmed on Thursday, December 27 when the selection committee also included fast bowling all-rounders Doug Bracewell and Jimmy Neesham into the arsenal.

Building towards next year’s ICC Cricket World Cup in England and Wales, selector Gavin Larsen said, "It’s great to have Martin back after injury and he’ll obviously add all his class and experience to the side."

With an intent to provide opportunities to a wider group of players, the selectors have also decided to rest wicketkeeper-batsman Tom Latham as well as the explosive middle-order bat Colin de Grandhomme. Paving way for 24-year-old wicketkeeper-batsman Tim Seifert's ODI debut.

"With the World Cup now on our radar there is a need to look at different players over the home summer," Larsen further said, "We want to win the one-day series against Sri Lanka, and we want to gain as much new information as possible while doing so."

The first two ODIs will be played in Mount Maunganui on January 3 and 5 respectively, while Nelson hosts the final one-dayer on January 8.

New Zealand squad:- Kane Williamson (capt), Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

(Inputs from AFP)


By Kashish Chadha - 27 Dec, 2018

    Share Via