NZ v IND 2022: Latham and Williamson’s record stand powers New Zealand to an emphatic 7-wicket win in 1st ODI

Latham and Williamson added a record 221* runs for 4th wicket vs India.

Shreyas Iyer made 80 for India | GettyThe first ODI of the three-match series between New Zealand and India got underway at Eden Park, Auckland on November 25, 2022, and saw the hosts defeat the visitors in an emphatic fashion to go 1-0 up in the series.

Kane Williamson won the toss and chose to bowl first. For India, Arshdeep Singh and Umran Malik made their ODI debuts.

For India, Shikhar Dhawan (72 in 77 balls with 13 fours) and Shubman Gill (50) added 124 runs for the first wicket. Then Shreyas Iyer continued the scoring with a brilliant 80 in 76 balls with 4 fours and 4 sixes.

Rishabh Pant (15) and Suryakumar Yadav (4) failed to contribute much, but Sanju Samson (36) and Washington Sundar (37* in 16 balls with 3 fours and 3 sixes) propelled India to 306/7 in 50 overs.

For New Zealand, Tim Southee (3/73) and Lockie Ferguson (3/59) were the picks of the bowlers.

NZ v IND 2022: “I want Sanju Samson to get all the opportunities”- R Ashwin

In reply, Finn Allen was the first to fall for 22 runs, caught by Pant off Shardul Thakur’s bowling, and then Devon Conway became Umran Malik’s first ODI wicket, also caught behind for 24 runs.

Malik continued his good showing as he removed Daryl Mitchell for 11 runs as New Zealand was 88/3 in 20 overs.

But then Tom Latham joined his captain Kane Williamson and the duo hammered the Indian bowling to all parts of the Eden Park stadium. Latham was hitting the Indian pacers and spinners alike with disdain, as he brought up his 7th ODI century in just 76 balls.

Tom Latham reached his century in just 76 balls and made 145* | GettyThis included hitting 23 runs out of 25 runs which came in the 40th over where Latham hit Shardul Thakur for 4 fours and one six to reach his century.

NZ v IND 2022: WATCH- Umran Malik picks Devon Conway and Daryl Mitchell as his first two wickets on ODI debut

In the end, he remained unbeaten on 145 in 104 balls with 19 fours and 5 sixes, while Kane Williamson made 94* in 98 balls with 7 fours and 1 six, as they added 221* runs for the fourth wicket. Latham was also named the Player of the Match for his brilliant ton.

New Zealand won the match by 7 wickets with 17 balls in hand and went 1-0 up in the three-ODI series.


IND 306/7 (S IYER 80, S DHAWAN 72; L FERGUSON 3/59) lost to NZ 309/3 (T LATHAM 145*, K WILLIAMSON 94*; U MALIK 2/66) by 7 wickets.

New Zealand leads the three-match ODI series 1-0.


By Jatin Sharma - 25 Nov, 2022

    Share Via