IND v AUS 2023: Yuzvendra Chahal posts a cryptic message after snub from Australia T20Is

India to play 5 T20Is against Australia starting November 23.

Yuzvendra Chahal  | GettyIndia leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal was snubbed from the recent Men in Blue squad that was announced by the BCCI for the upcoming five-T20I series against Australia that starts November 23, 2023.

The BCCI named a young side with Suryakumar Yadav as captain. The squad saw multiple IPL stars like Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma, and Shivam Dube getting chances. Ruturaj Gaikwad was named vice-captain for the first three T20Is, while Ishan Kishan and Prasidh Krishna were also named in the squad.

Fans expected the likes of Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Sanju Samson to return to the team for the bilateral series but there was no place for either of the three in the Indian squad.

CWC 2023: WATCH- 'Keep smiling, country is looking up to you'- PM Narendra Modi consoles Indian team after World Cup final loss

Meanwhile, BCCI showed trust in Ravi Bishnoi, Washington Sundar, and Akshar Patel as the spinners in the squad.

Chahal, who had missed out on the Cricket World Cup 2023 as well, took to social media to share a cryptic smiling emoji.

Incidentally, Chahal was not picked for the previous two T20 World Cups as well and has found himself out of contention for the Indian team.

In a recent interview, speaking about his ODI World Cup snub, Chahal said that he is used to such situations now.

"I understand that only fifteen players can be a part because it's a World Cup, where you can't take 17 or 18. do feel a little bad, but my motto in life is to move on. I'm used to it now, it's been three World Cups (laughs). That's why I came here [at Kent] to play because I want to play cricket somewhere, somehow," Chahal had told Wisden India.

India squad for Australia T20Is:

Suryakumar Yadav (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar

Shreyas Iyer will join the side for the last two T20Is as vice-captain.


By Jatin Sharma - 21 Nov, 2023

    Share Via