Virender Sehwag, Aravinda de Silva and Diana Edulji inducted into ICC Hall of Fame Class of 2023

Diana Edulji became the first Indian women's cricketer to be inducted into the ICC HOF.

VIrender Sehwag, Diana Edulji and Aravinda de Silva | GettyOn November 13, 2023, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced that former India cricketers Virender Sehwag and Diana Edulji and Sri Lankan great Aravinda de Silva were the new inductions into the ICC Hall of Fame.

Virender Sehwag played 104 Tests, 251 ODIs, and 19 T20Is for India from 1999-2012. He also captained India in a handful of games in all three formats. He was also part of the Indian teams which won the 2007 T20 World Cup and 2011 World Cup.

Sehwag was the first Indian to score a triple century in Tests, vs Pakistan in 2004 and only the fourth batter to score two triple tons in the 5-day format after Sir Don Bradman, Brian Lara, and Chris Gayle. He was also the first captain to score a double century in ODIs.

“I would like to thank the ICC and the jury for inducting me with this honor. I feel extremely grateful for having spent a great part of my life doing what I loved most, ‘hitting the cricket ball’. I would also like to thank my family, friends, people I played with, and countless people who prayed for me selflessly,” Sehwag was quoted by ICC.

CWC 2023: “Different individuals have stepped up at different times,” Rohit Sharma after India finish unbeaten in league stage

Diana Edulji was perhaps one of the first superstars of Indian women’s cricket. She played 20 Tests and 34 ODIs for India, scoring 615 runs and taking 109 wickets in all. After her time on the playing field, Edulji excelled as an administrator, working hard to bring women’s cricket to the forefront.

Edulji said it was a massive honor to become the first female cricketer from India to be inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame.

At the outset, I would like to thank the ICC and the Jury for having selected me to be inducted into the ICC Hall Of Fame 2023. It indeed is a great honor to be the first Indian Women Cricketer to be inducted and join a galaxy of cricketers, male, and female from across the world. I am delighted to be considered for this award. It's not only a proud moment for me, my family and friends but also for BCCI and Indian Women's Cricket,” Edulji said.

The final inductee for the 2023 class of the ICC Hall of Fame is Sri Lanka’s Aravinda de Silva. Their star of the 1996 World Cup win, De Silva took wickets and scored a century in the final against Australia in Lahore.

With the bat, Aravinda was devastating against pace and classy against spin. He scored 20 centuries in his 18-year career in which he played 93 Tests and 308 ODIs. He finished his career with a double-century in his final Test.

De Silva, a shrewd batter who always respected the condition of the game, was well known for his ability to modify his style of play depending on the circumstances and was a vital component of Sri Lanka's recovery towards the close of the last century.

He said: “I am filled with profound gratitude as I accept the immense honor of being inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame. This achievement is a tribute to the dedication, sacrifice, and love shaping my cricketing journey.

CWC 2023: WATCH – Suryakumar Yadav wins best fielder medal after India’s last league match against Netherlands

My family, my parents, my sister, my wife, and children are my anchor and deserve the deepest thanks for their unwavering support and sacrifice, which have propelled me towards success. My friends, steadfast companions throughout my highs and lows, have been my pillars of strength.

To my coaches, teachers, fans, and supporters, your relentless belief in me has fuelled my drive to succeed. My mentors and captains have guided and inspired me, and my teammates have been my extended family on this incredible journey. To the ones I have played against, thank you for enriching
my game. My sincere appreciation goes to the ICC, and the Hall of Fame voting committee for this extraordinary recognition. I share this honor with all who have stood by and shaped me. Thank you for being part of this remarkable journey,
” De Silva added.

(ICC inputs)


By Jatin Sharma - 13 Nov, 2023

    Share Via