Roger Binny speculated to be the next BCCI President after his name appears on Draft Electoral Rolls for elections- Report

Binny previously was the part of the BCCI selection panel.

Roger Binny | TOI PhotoRoger Binny, a member of the 1983 World Cup-winning Indian team, is speculated to be the next BCCI chief replacing Sourav Ganguly if reports are to be believed. Binny has served as a member of the BCCI selection committee in the past.

The rumors of him being a surprise candidate gained traction after the former India seamer's name appeared on the BCCI's Draft Electoral Rolls (put up on the BCCI website) for the October 18 elections and the Annual General Meeting as a representative of the Karnataka State Cricket Association on Thursday.

Formerly, the KSCA was represented by their secretary Santosh Menon in the Board AGM of the Board. The elections will be held here on October 18.

The Times of India reported that on Thursday night in Delhi, a lengthy meeting happened which was attended by current BCCI office-bearers and a few veteran administrators of the past to decide on the posts of the office-bearers of the Board.

T20 World Cup 2022: 'Absence of Bumrah and Jadeja an opportunity for India to unearth a new champion'- Ravi Shastri

"Right now, things are a bit fluid. A top cabinet minister, whose word everyone respects, will have the final say in this matter," a source told TOI.

The report also suggested that Sourav Ganguly might become India’s representative for the International Cricket Council chairman's post, while Jay Shah could continue in his present role as the BCCI secretary.

And interestingly, instead of Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) chief Avishek Dalmiya, the body will be represented by Sourav Ganguly.

Among other significant names in the rolls are Jay Shah (Gujarat), Arun Dhumal (Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association, Rajiv Shukla (Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association), Ashish Shelar (Mumbai Cricket Association), former BCCI treasurer Anirudh Chaudhry (Haryana), Vaibhav Gehlot (Rajasthan), Mohammed Azharuddin (Hyderabad), Jaydev Shah (Saurashtra), Adwait Manohar (Vidarbha), Pranav Amin (Baroda), and Rohan Jaitley (Delhi District Cricket Association).

The nominations can be filled on October 11 and 12, the scrutiny of the nominations will take place on October 13 and the candidates can withdraw their nominations latest by October 14.

(Times Of India Inputs)


By Jatin Sharma - 07 Oct, 2022

    Share Via