Ajinkya Rahane named Mumbai captain for Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy

The side also comprises Yashasvi Jaiswal, Prithvi Shaw, Sarfaraz Khan, and Shardul Thakur.

Ajinkya Rahane | BCCI

In the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (SMAT) T20 tournament, which starts on October 11, the star-studded Mumbai side will be captained by veteran Ajinkya Rahane. Rahane recently led West Zone to victory in the Duleep Trophy and is all set to take the helm in the T20 competition.

Mumbai will play its matches in Rajkot and the team also comprises Yashasvi Jaiswal, Prithvi Shaw, and Sarfaraz Khan. 

The Mumbai team also includes Shardul Thakur, who isn't in India's 2022 T20 World Cup squad. However, the all-rounder who is expected to be named to the ODI squad for the South Africa series will miss a few matches for Mumbai.

SEE ALSO: Cheteshwar Pujara included in Saurashtra’s squad for Irani Cup 2022, Jaydev Unadkat named captain

The inclusion of Prithvi Shaw would provide the team with the much-needed boost in the powerplay overs. Yashasvi Jaiswal is expected to open the innings alongside Shaw.

Jaiswal recently struck a career-best 265 for West Zone, and thanks to his consistent performances, he has been selected for the Rest of India side to play Saurashtra in the Irani Trophy.

In the IPL 2022, Shivam Dube, had a stunning performance for Chennai Super Kings. He'll strive to replicate that performance in the upcoming competition.

Mumbai will open its campaign against Mizoram on October 11 in Rajkot.

Mumbai squad for Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy:

Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Prithvi Shaw, Sarfaraz Khan, Shardul Thakur, Shams Mulani, Tanush Kotian, Hardik Tamore, Prashant Solanki, Dhawal Kulkarni, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dube, Aman Khan, Sairaj Patil, Mohit Awasthi.

(Timesnow INPUTS)


By Abhishek Ghan - 30 Sep, 2022

    Share Via