Callum Ferguson to lead Australian Golds in the first edition of GPCL

Ferguson has represented Australia in one Test, 30 ODIs and three T20Is.

Callum Ferguson | GettyThere is a lot of buzz around the upcoming Global Power Cricket League (GPCL), scheduled to be played in Delhi from October 2 to October 9, 2022.

The inaugural edition of the T20 tournament will feature eight teams, each from different nationalities. The participating teams are from India, Australia, England, USA, Ireland, Scotland, South Africa, and Sri Lanka.

In this article, we are focusing on the team from Australia called ‘Australian Golds’.

For a team to do well in any tournament, the captain’s role is extremely vital and Callum Ferguson has been given the responsibility to lead Australian Golds in the GPCL T20.

Ferguson has been around for a long time, having made his debut in professional cricket way back in the 2002-03 season. The 37-year-old has represented Australia in one Test, 30 ODIs, and three T20Is.

Callum Ferguson may not have got many chances in his national team, but he is counted amongst the top performers in Australia’s domestic circuit. In 147 First-Class matches, Ferguson has amassed 9386 runs with 20 centuries while he aggregated 5952 runs in 175 List A matches including 14 tons.

As far as his T20 exploits are concerned – Ferguson has scored 3217 runs in 147 matches at a strike rate of 124.83 with two hundreds and 15 half-centuries.

Ferguson has the experience of playing T20 league across the globe for teams such as now-defunct IPL franchise Pune Warriors, Lahore Qalandars, Worcestershire, Sydney Thunder among others.

His rich experience and presence in the dressing room will certainly help the youngsters in the South African Emeralds squad.

For the inaugural GPCL T20, Australian Golds are placed in Pool B alongside South African Emeralds, Sri Lankan Violets and Irish Olives. They will open their campaign against Irish Olives on October 3.

Australian Golds Squad:           

Callum Ferguson (c), Chadd Sayers, Shaminda Eranga, Lahiru Thirimanne, Mahela Udawatte, Sathpath Kalum, Krutarth Suthar, Chrish Russo, Gurharbhej Sandhu, Rahul Bhandari, Rajith Premachandra, Gursewak Singh, Shivek Roshan Jayprakash and Jagdish Chand Aggarwal


By Salman Anjum - 22 Sep, 2022

    Share Via