GPCL likely to have a team from Nepal, Rajbir Singh to lead

The GPCL organisers want to leave no stone unturned to take cricket global.

The eight confirmed teams featuring in the inaugural GPCL seasonEven before a ball is bowled, the upcoming Global Power Cricket League (GPCL) has caught everyone’s attention in the sporting fraternity.

The T20 tournament, aspiring to cater to the Indian diaspora population, is slated to be held in Delhi from October 2 to October 9.

Power Sportz – India's first live digital Sports channel – has come up with the idea of GPCL, which has opened doors of opportunity for the Indian diaspora global youth cricketers.

As per our sources, Nepal cricketers might be seen in the inaugural edition of GPCL as well. Apparently, the organisers are considering a team from Nepal, which is a full member nation of the ICC.

Read More: Usain Bolt likely to rub shoulders with marquee international cricketers during GPCL

It is learnt that the organisers are having a discussion with the concerned authorities as well as the players and the deal might be sealed very soon. The talks are also on with Rajbir Singh – one of the well-known names in Nepal’s cricket circuit.

Rajbir, a left-handed batter and a left-arm spinner, will be given the responsibility to lead the team if the deal gets closed.

Nepal cricket, still in the developing phase, will receive a major boost if its players participate in the GPCL, which has already signed a number of marquee international cricketers.

As of today, the eight confirmed teams featuring in the GPCL T20 are – Indian Sapphires, Australian Golds, English Reds, American Indigos, Irish Olives, Scottish Mulberries, South African Emeralds, and Sri Lankan Violets.

Each team has some marquee international cricketers in its ranks. While the Indian Sapphires have signed Munaf Patel, Yusuf Pathan and Gulbadin Naib, Australian Golds have bought Callum Ferguson.

English Reds have roped in the legendary Ian Bell as captain whereas Robert Frylinck, Narsingh Deonarine, Dilshan Munaweera, and Kirk Edwards are the other notable names in the players’ roster.


By Salman Anjum - 21 Sep, 2022

    Share Via