England and Australia to clash in Men's Ashes 2023 with first Test in Edgbaston on June 16th

ECB announced schedule for Men's and Women's Ashes series 2023.

Australia holds the Ashes urn | GettyThe Ashes 2023 five-Test series between England and Australia will begin on June 16th with the first match to be played in Edgbaston, organizers confirmed.

Australia thrashed England 4-0 in the last edition of the Ashes which was played down under which was a huge catalyst in head coach Chris Silverwood getting replaced and then later Joe Root stepping down as the captain.

The new combination of captain Ben Stokes and head coach Brendon McCullum has done wonders as England has lost only one of their last 7 Test matches. England will face Ireland in a one-off Test before facing off Australia in the Ashes 2023.

The second Test will be held from June 28 at Lord's, followed by the third in Headingley from July 6, and the fourth at Old Trafford from July 19. The series will wrap up at The Oval with the fifth Test scheduled for July 27.

Jay Shah reveals Women's T20 Asia Cup 2022 schedule, India to play arch-rivals Pakistan on October 7

Australia is currently the top-ranked team in Tests, while England is fourth. After the Ashes, the England men's team will host New Zealand in four ODIs and four T20s.

Women's Ashes will see England and Australia in one Test, 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is | GettyApart from this, the Women’s Ashes will be held in a multi-format series consisting of one Test match, three one-day internationals, and three Twenty20 internationals. It will begin on June 22. The one-off Test will be played at Trent Bridge, which is England women's first over five days on home soil.

Edgbaston, Lord's, and The Oval will all be hosting their first Women's Ashes T20Is.  

Men’s Ashes series schedule:

1st Test: Edgbaston, 16-20 June 2023
2nd Test: Lord’s, 28 June-2 July 2023
3rd Test: Headingley, 6-10 July 2023australia 
4th Test: Emirates Old Trafford, 19-23 July 2023
5th Test: Kia Oval, 27-31 July 2023

Women's Ashes Series schedule:

One-off Test: Trent Bridge, 22-26 June 2023

1st T20I: Edgbaston, July 1, 2023
2nd T20I: Kia Oval, July 5, 2023
3rd T20I: Lord’s, July 8, 2023

1st ODI: Seat Unique Stadium, Bristol, July 12, 2023
2nd ODI: Ageas Bowl, July 16, 2023
3rd ODI: Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton, July 18, 2023

(ECB inputs)


By Jatin Sharma - 21 Sep, 2022

    Share Via