GPCL set to grow a new breed of cricket stars, average age 25

The inaugural edition of GPCL is set to be held in Delhi from October 2 to October 9.

Global Power Cricket LeagueEven before a ball is bowled, the upcoming Global Power Cricket League (GPCL) has created a massive buzz in the sporting fraternity.

The inaugural edition of the T20 tournament, featuring eight teams from different countries, will be held in India from October 2 to October 9.

The promo of GPCL released by Power Sportz – India's first live digital Sports channel – has garnered millions of views on social media, which suggests that the fans are keenly waiting for the league to kick-off.

While the participation of marquee international cricketers is one of the major reasons behind this excitement, the organisers of this tournament are also aiming to develop a new breed of cricket stars, having an average age of 25 years.

See Also: GPCL promo garners millions of views on social media platforms

For the inaugural edition, each team has roped in a number of youngsters, who will be able to share the dressing room with some of the greats of the game like Ian Bell, Munaf Patel, and Yusuf Pathan.

After rubbing shoulders with the veteran campaigners, it is a no-brainer that the young cricketers will feel more confident and their overall game will also improve by leaps and bounds. 

As the organisers plan to take the GPCL T20 to Middle East, USA, Canada, UK, and South Africa in the coming years, the budding cricketers of these countries will look to fine-tune their skills in such a way that they can break into the teams. It will also create healthy competition among the young players.

Talking about the GPCL, the eight teams have been divided into two groups. While Indian Sapphires, English Reds, Scottish Mulberries and American Indigos are slotted in Pool A, Australian Golds, South African Emeralds, Sri Lankan Violets and Irish Olives are part of Pool B.

Every team will play one match against the other three sides in the pool. Subsequently, the top two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-final, where the toppers of each pool will get to face the second-placed side of the other pool. 

Ultimately, the winners of the semi-final will square off in the summit clash. All the games will be played in Delhi’s Yamuna Sports Complex Cricket Ground.


By Salman Anjum - 19 Sep, 2022

    Share Via