Moeen Ali, Sunil Narine, Shimron Hetmyer among big names signed for UAE's ILT20

The inaugural edition of ILT20 is slated to be held in UAE in January-February next year.

Moeen Ali, Sunil Narine and Shimron Hetmyer | GettyMoeen Ali, Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Wanindu Hasaranga and Shimron Hetmyer, along with Chris Jordan, Alex Hales, Colin Munro and Mujeeb Ur Rahman are some of the high-profile signings for the inaugural edition of ILT20, slated to be held in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in January-February next year.

“Over the past weeks, ILT20’s six franchises have started discussions and engaged with players, and players’ agents, to exercise their “Direct Acquisition" rights, and we are extremely delighted to be in a position today to announce the first set of players who will compete in UAE’s Inaugural (T20) League," said Khalid Al Zarooni, Chairman, UAE ILT20.

The first marquee list of players, released on Monday (August 8), doesn’t have any cricketer from India, Pakistan and Bangladesh.

See Also: “Look after your cricket interests, don’t interfere in ours”: Gavaskar slams England, Australia for IPL criticism

Other names featuring in the marquee list include Andre Russell, Dawid Malan, Evin Lewis, Fabien Allen, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Dushmantha Chameera, Akeal Hosein, Tom Banton, Sandeep Lamichhane, Rovman Powell, and Bhanuka Rajapaksa.

“It’s exciting to see how well the squads are shaping up for the first season of ILT20. Each team will consist of 18 players, including 4 UAE players and 2 other players from ICC Associate countries. The quality of the names announced today is outstanding and so is the interest in our league from top players from all around the world," Mubashshir Usmani, Emirates Cricket’s General Secretary, said.

The second list of players was also unveiled by the league which includes: Lahiru Kumara, Seekugge Prassanna, Charith Asalanka, Isuru Udana, Colin Ingram, Paul Stirling, Kennar Lewis, Ali Khan, Brandon Glover, Ravi Rampaul, Raymon Reifer, Blessing Muzarabani, Niroshan Dickwella, Hazaratullah Zazai, Frederick Klassen, Sikandar Raza, George Munsey, Dan Lawrence, Dominic Drakes, Jamie Overton, Liam Dawson, David Wiese, Qais Ahmed, Richard Gleeson, James Vince, Noor Ahmed, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Navin Ul Haq, Sherfane Rutherford, Saqib Mahmood, Ben Duckett, Benny Howell and Ruben Trumpelman.

“We are very excited that a select number of UAE representative-players, from our current pool, will also be considered and signed-on to participate in the League, it is also extremely important to note that these (UAE) players will form part of the team’s playing XI."

“One of the key objectives for ILT20 is to provide opportunities for players from UAE and other Associate nations to perform on the big stage, and, ECB extends its deep appreciation to the six-franchises for their support of our vision to grow our game and create stronger, more competitive players," added Usmani.

The league featuring six teams will be played over a 34-match schedule across Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah. India's Reliance Industries, Kolkata Knight Riders, Capri Global, GMR, Lancer Capital, Adani Sportsline have bought franchises in ILT20.

(With IANS inputs)


By Salman Anjum - 09 Aug, 2022

    Share Via