“Such a happy moment for all of us”, Shah Rukh Khan delighted on having TKR women's team for CPL

The inaugural season of the WCPL is due to get underway on August 30, 2022.

Shah Rukh Khan | GettyIn a big development, Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) have announced their first-ever women's team.

The inaugural season of the Women Caribbean Premier League (WCPL), due to take place later this year, will see Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) participating in it.

The WCPL, slated to get underway on August 30, will run alongside the men’s tournament. The three teams that would take part in the inaugural edition of WCPL are Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors and Trinbago Knight Riders.

Amid the recent development, co-owner of the franchise and Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan expressed his delight that the Knight Riders group finally have a women team.

“This is such a happy moment for all of us at @KKRiders @ADKRiders & of course, the lovely set of people at @TKRiders. Hope I can make it there to see this live!!” Shah Rukh tweeted.

Notably, the Knight Riders group own multiple teams around the world. Apart from KKR and TKR, they are owners of the Los Angeles Knight Riders and Abu Dhabi Knight Riders in the upcoming Major Cricket League and UAE T20 League respectively.

With BCCI planning to start the Women’s IPL from next year onwards, it remains to be seen if KKR take interest in expanding their sports team.


By Salman Anjum - 19 Jun, 2022

    Share Via