Cricket Australia unveils bumper home fixtures around T20 World Cup 2022

Australian men’s team will play eight bilateral series against five different opponents.

Australian cricket team | GettyCricket Australia (CA) on Monday (May 30) unveiled a bumper home fixture, as per which, the Australian men’s cricket team will play eight bilateral series against five different opponents besides defending the T20 World Cup title on home soil.

The home season, slated to get underway in August, will see the Australian men's team playing at least 27 games in front of home supporters and it could go up to 29 if the hosts reach the T20 World Cup in Melbourne on November 13.

On the other hand, the Australian women’s cricket team have a lighter programme, featuring in twin limited-overs series against Pakistan in late January.

Perth will get to host an international match for the first time since 2019 as the venue will stage first of the two Tests against the West Indies from November 30, while the second Test will be a day-night fixture in Adelaide.

Afterwards, Australia will play three Tests against South Africa, starting at Gabba on December 17 with the Proteas playing the Boxing Day and new year Tests in Melbourne and Sydney for the first time in 13 years.

South Africa's tour of Australia will culminate with three ODIs, but the January dates remain unconfirmed after an "eleventh-hour" request from CSA to have them reconsidered.

The early start of the season is to accommodate two previously postponed one-day international series against Zimbabwe and New Zealand.

The Zimbabwe series, twice delayed by Covid-19, sees all three games at Riverway Stadium in Townsville in Queensland from August 28.

New Zealand will play its three matches at an unfamiliar North Queensland venue, Cazalys Stadium in Cairns, 18 years after it was last used for international cricket.

Twenty20 series against the West Indies and England will precede the T20 World Cup 2022, scheduled to start on October 16.

A three-match ODI series against England has been scheduled in November, before Australia's five Tests are played in the space of 40 days.

"It is the start of an exciting eight months for the team that also includes a tour to India, home series against Pakistan, the opportunity to play in the Hundred and our own extended domestic season, before the T20 World Cup," Cricket Australia CEO Nick Hockley said.

Cricket Australia clarified that women's team’s fixture was reduced due to various factors, including the Commonwealth Games in England in July-August and to keep the players fresh for their T20 World Cup defence in South Africa in February.

Cricket Australia 2022-23 schedule:


ODI series v Zimbabwe (all Townsville): August 28, 31, September 3

ODI series v New Zealand (all Cairns): September 6, 8, 11

T20 series v West Indies (all Gold Coast): October 5, 7

T20 series v England: October 9 (Brisbane), 12, 14 (both Canberra)

ICC Men's T20 World Cup: October 16-November 13

ODI Series v England: November 17 (Adelaide), 19 (Sydney), 22 Melbourne.

Test series v West Indies: First Test November 30-December 4 (Perth), Second Test December 8-12 (Adelaide).

Test series v South Africa: First Test December 17-21 (Brisbane), Second Test December 26-30 (Melbourne), Third Test January 4-8 (Sydney).

ODI series v South Africa (dates tbc) Jan 12 (Hobart), 14 (Sydney), 17 (Perth).


ODI series v Pakistan January 16, 18 (both Brisbane), 21 (Sydney).

Twenty20 series v Pakistan: January 24 (Sydney), 27, 29 (both Canberra).

(With AFP inputs)


By Salman Anjum - 30 May, 2022

    Share Via