Cricket West Indies congratulates Sir Clive Lloyd on his knighthood

Clive Lloyd captained West Indies to two World Cup wins in 1975 and 1979.

Eoin Morgan and Clive Lloyd being honored for their services in the game of Cricket | Getty Images

Cricket West Indies has congratulated their cricket legend, Clive Lloyd, on receiving the Knighthood. The former West Indies skipper received this honor for his services towards the game of cricket.

The investiture ceremony was performed on Wednesday by the Duke of Cambridge at Windsor Castle.

"On behalf of CWI and everyone involved in West Indies cricket, I want to offer the heartiest congratulations to Clive on this tremendous honor. Clive holds a special place in cricket history, as the first man to lift the Cricket World Cup, which brought tremendous pride and joy to West Indians all over the world," CWI President Ricky Skerritt said in a statement.

"That victory at Lords was a hugely significant moment in West Indies cricket when we demonstrated we were the best team in the world, with the unifying style of Clive's leadership standing out," Skerritt added.

"Clive has made a massive contribution to the growth of the game in the West Indies and globally, and cricket fans everywhere should welcome this most fitting accolade," he added.

Also Read: Joe Root to take a call on entering the IPL 2022 mega auction

Clive Lloyd became West Indies captain in 1974 and then led the team to two World Cup wins in 1975 and 1979. He led the team to multiple series wins over Australia, England, India, and other teams both at home and away. 

In all, he played 110 Tests, making 7515 runs and 87 ODIs, making 1977 runs, and is considered to be one of the most successful captains of all time.

Team West Indies was the most successful team in the world under his captaincy. The team had a record of 27 undefeated Tests – which included 11 wins in a row.

Lloyd was also a former West Indies team manager and selector, and ICC Match Referee. He was inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame in 2009.

(ANI Inputs)


By Khushi Raghuwanshi - 13 Jan, 2022

    Share Via