BCCI announces Indian squad for U19 World Cup 2022 in West Indies; Yash Dhull named captain

India grouped with South Africa, Uganda and Ireland in Group B.

Delhi's Yash Dhull has been named captain of India U19 team for 2022 WC | InstagramThe Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), on December 19, 2021, announced the Indian team squad for the upcoming U19 World Cup to be played in 2022 in the West Indies. Delhi’s Yash Dhull has been named captain of the team.

The tournament will be played in the West Indies from January 14 to February 5, and India has named a 17-member squad with 5 stand-by players as well. Four-time winners India are clubbed with South Africa, Ireland, and Uganda in Group B.

"The All-India Junior Selection Committee has picked India's squad for the upcoming ICC Under 19 Men's Cricket World Cup to be played in the West Indies from 14th January to 5th February 2022 across four host countries," the BCCI said in a press release.

WATCH- Virat Kohli gives a pep-talk in Punjabi to Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola

Yash Dhull will be assisted by Andhra Pradesh’s SK Rasheed and the squad also includes two wicketkeepers - Haryana's Dinesh Bana and Uttar Pradesh's Aaradhya Yadav.  

India who played in the final of the 2020 tournament in South Africa, will kick-start their campaign against South Africa on January 15, in Guyana before heading to Trinidad and Tobago to face Ireland and Uganda, on January 19 and 22 respectively.

The selectors have also named five standby players - Rishit Reddy, Uday Saharan, Ansh Gosai, Amrit Raj Upadhyay, and PM Singh Rathore.

Rohit Sharma giving a pep talk to the India U19 players at the NCA in Bangalore | BCCI

A total of 16 teams will compete across 48 matches in the upcoming edition of the ICC event. The competition features four groups of four teams, with the top two from each group progressing to the Super League stage of the tournament to decide the tournament winner. Teams finishing in third and fourth place in each group enter a Plate play-off.

SA v IND 2021-22: PICS- Rahul Dravid and Indian team hard at work in Centurion ahead of first Test vs South Africa

The group stage will take place across Guyana, St Kitts, and Nevis, and Trinidad and Tobago between January 14 and 22. Trinidad and Tobago will host the Plate competition between January 25 and 31, with the Super League taking place in Antigua and Barbuda from January 26.

The semi-finals will be played on February 1 and 2 across two venues: the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground and Coolidge Cricket Ground. The final will also be held at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground.

India U19 Squad:

Yash Dhull, Harnoor Singh, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, SK Rasheed, Nishant Sindhu, Siddarth Yadav, Aneeshwar Gautam, Dinesh Bana (wk), Aaradya Yada, Raj Angad Bawa, Manav Parakh, Kaushal Tambe, RS Hangargekar, Vasu Vats, Viky Ostwal, Ravikumar, Garv Sangwan

Stand-by Players- Rishit Reddy, Uday Saharan, Ansh Gosai, Amrit Raj Upadhyay and PM Singh Rathore

(PTI inputs)


By Jatin Sharma - 19 Dec, 2021

    Share Via