BAN v PAK 2021: Pakistan name 12-man squad for 1st Test against Bangladesh

The first Test will be played in Chattogram on Friday, November 26.

Pakistan named a 12-man squad for the first Test against Bangladesh | Getty Images

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Thursday (November 25) named a 12-man squad for the opening Test of the upcoming two-match Test series against Bangladesh.

The first Test will be played at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram from Friday, November 26.

All-rounder Faheem Ashraf, leg-spinner Nauman Ali and pacer Hasan Ali have been named in Pakistan’s 12-man squad for the first Test against Bangladesh. Right-handed batter Abdullah Shafique earned a maiden call-up to the Pakistan squad for the opening Test in Chattogram.

Babar Azam will lead Pakistan, with Mohammad Rizwan as his deputy. The second and final Test will be played on December 4 at the Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium in Dhaka.

Read Also: BAN v PAK 2021: Uncapped Mahmudul Hasan and Rejaur Raja named in Bangladesh squad for 1st Test

The PCB said in a statement on Thursday, “Pakistan today announced their 12-player squad for the first Test against Bangladesh, which will be played at the Ch. Zahoor Ahmed Cricket Stadium, Chittagong from Friday. The match will start at 1000 local time.”

Meanwhile, Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan has been ruled out of the first Test against Pakistan.

Chairman of the National Selection Panel, Minhajul Abedin, told The Daily Star: “Shakib will miss the first Test, that’s for sure. He is yet to recover from injury. After assessing the physiotherapist’s report, we can say whether he will be available for the second Test.”

Pakistan squad:

Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (vc-WK), Abdullah Shafique, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi.

(With ANI Inputs)


By Rashmi Nanda - 25 Nov, 2021

    Share Via