Dinesh Karthik, Washington Sundar return to Tamil Nadu squad for Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021 begins on December 8th.

Dinesh Karthik and Washington Sundar to play in Vijay Hazare Trophy | TNCA

Veteran wicketkeeper-batter Dinesh Karthik and all-rounder Washington Sundar are all set to return to domestic action as the duo have been named in the Tamil Nadu squad for the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021.

On Tuesday (November 23), Tamil Nadu announced a 20-man squad for the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy – a 50-over domestic cricket tournament – starting on December 8.

Vijay Shankar has been named Tamil Nadu captain for the Vijay Hazare Trophy after he captained the side to the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy victory last week, while N Jagadeesan has been named as his deputy.

Tamil Nadu, who are placed in Elite Group "B", will take on Mumbai in their opening game of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021 in Thiruvananthapuram on December 8, 2021.

Read Also: IPL 2022 likely to get underway on April 2 in Chennai: Report

Notably, Karthik missed the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 tournament due to an injury, while Sundar has been out of action since the tour of England earlier this year due to a finger injury and was undergoing rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru.

Tamil Nadu’s pace attack is comprised of Sandeep Warrier, M Mohammed, P Saravana Kumar, and J Kousik, while R Sai Kishore, M Ashwin, M Siddharth, R Sanjay Yadav, and Washington are in the spin department.

All-rounder B Aparajith, who is currently with the India "A" team in South Africa, will join the Tamil Nadu squad in the Vijay Hazare Trophy at a later date, if available.

Tamil Nadu Squad:

Vijay Shankar (captain), N Jagadeesan (vice-captain), Dinesh Karthik, C Hari Nishaanth, M Shahrukh Khan, R Sai Kishore, M Ashwin, Sandeep Warrier, M S Washington Sundar, M Siddharth, B Sai Sudharsan, V Ganga Sridhar Raju, M Mohammed, J Kousik, P Saravana Kumar, L Suryapprakash, B Indrajith, R Sanjay Yadav, M Kaushik Gandhi, R Silambarasan.

(With PTI Inputs)


By Rashmi Nanda - 24 Nov, 2021

    Share Via