No place for Bumrah in Lendl Simmons' all-time T20 XI; Dhoni named as captain

Lendl Simmons named a total of four Indian cricketers in his all-time T20 XI.

Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni | GETTY

West Indies batter Lendl Simmons picked former India skipper MS Dhoni as captain in his all-time T20 XI. He picked a total of four Indian cricketers, four Caribbean stars, two South African, and one from Afghanistan in his eleven.

Interestingly, Simmons named Bhuvneshwar Kumar in his bowling attack but missed out on the star pacer Jasprit Bumrah. Along with Dhoni and Bhuvneshwar, India's T20I captain Rohit Sharma and his predecessor Virat Kohli made it into the all-time XI.

ALSO READ:  Kohli would often let Dhoni handle little details: Bharat Arun on captaincy transition between duo

The 'Universe Boss' Chris Gayle was paired up with Rohit for the opening spot, followed by Kohli, and AB de Villiers, who recently retired from all forms of cricket, into the batting line-up.

Simmons has West Indies' one of the most reliable T20 players, Kieron Pollard for the number 5 in his batting order. Pollard is a proven cricketer in this format of the game, and he bailed out his team from a tough position numerous times.

Apart from captaincy, Dhoni is also the wicket-keeper on the team. All-rounder Dwayne Bravo, the highest wicket-taker in T20 format follows him in the batting order. 

Afghanistan's leggie Rashid Khan was paired up with West Indies' off-spinner Sunil Narine, while the fast bowler Bhuvneshwar and Kagiso Rabada formed a fast bowling duo in Simmons' all-time XI to make the bowling attack lethal. 

Lendl Simmons’ XI: Chris Gayle, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Keiron Pollard, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Dwayne Bravo, Rashid Khan, Sunil Narine, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Kagiso Rabada.

(Inputs from SportsKeeda) 


By - 24 Nov, 2021

    Share Via