SLC hands one-year bans to Gunathilaka, Mendis and Dickwella from international cricket

The trio was guilt of bio-bubble breach in Durham while Sri Lanka was touring England.

Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis and Niroshan Dickwella had breached the bio-bubble in the UK | Twitter

Sri Lankan cricketers Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, and Niroshan Dickwella were found guilty of breaching the bio-secure bubble in Durham when the island country was touring England for limited-overs series.

All of the three cricketers were handed a one-year ban from international cricket and a six-month ban from domestic cricket by Sri Lanka Cricket, on Friday (July 30).

As SLC’s disciplinary committee had recommended, once the one-year ban gets completed, the trio will have to undergo a further ban of one year from international cricket which will be a suspended sentence for two years.

The three Sri Lankan players were also fined 10 million Sri Lankan Rupees each and will also have to undergo mandatory counseling under a doctor recommended by the board.

SLC disciplinary committee suggests 2-year ban for Gunathilaka, Mendis; 18 months for Dickwella

Consequent to the recommendations made by the Independent Panel of Inquiry appointed by Sri Lanka Cricket, under allegations of: Breaching Covid-19 safety guidelines, instructions & regulations of the team Management and by the said act putting into jeopardy the safety of said players."

Fellow team members and others involved in the said tour, and violating the instructions & regulations of the team Management with regard to the team curfew by failing to be at the hotel room by 10.30 p.m. By such actions, bringing disrepute to Sri Lanka Cricket and the county,” the SLC’s media release said.

Earlier, based on the manager's report, the trio was provisionally suspended by the executive committee from all forms of cricket and were asked to return home from the UK.

As far as the Sri Lankan cricket team is concerned, they registered a T20I series win over hosts India after losing the three-match ODI series 2-1.

(With Cricbuzz Inputs)


By Swapnil Shireesh Javkhedkar - 30 Jul, 2021

    Share Via