Mohammed Azharuddin named in BCCI working group to decided on compensation for domestic cricketers

CAB President Avishek Dalmiya and DDCA President Rohan Jaitley amongst other members of group.

 Mohammed Azharuddin | TwitterThe Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced a seven-member BCCI working group to decide on the formula to compensate first-class cricketers for the cancellation of the Ranji Trophy last season due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The former India skipper Mohammed Azharuddin who is also the current president of Hyderabad Cricket Association along with DDCA president Rohan Jaitely has been named in this working group for deciding on the compensation of the domestic cricketers.

The other members of the panel include Saurashtra's Jaydev Shah, Karnataka's Santosh Menon, Assam's Devajit Saikia, Bengal's Avishek Dalmiya, and Uttar Pradesh's Yudhvir Singh.

Last year, domestic cricket lost around INR 10 to 15 lakh as BCCI could only conduct Vijay Hazare Trophy (Domestic One Day tournament) and Syed Mushtaq (Domestic T20 tournament).

Umar Akmal involved in a brawl with two fans at his Karachi residence

Jaybhai Shah, Hon. Secretary of BCCI announced today that BCCI has formed a working group comprising of the member associations, including former cricketers, for domestic cricket in India,” the Saurashtra Cricket Association stated in a media statement issued here on late Saturday night.

Recently,  Sri Lanka had to reschedule the ODI series against India from 13 July to 18 July due to the COVID-19 outbreak in their camp after returning from England where the island nation played a three-match ODI and three-T20I series.

With Virat Kohli and Co. staying in the UK for the upcoming five-Test series against England a completely new Indian team led by Shikhar Dhawan was announced with Rahul Dravid as the head coach.

(With PTI Inputs)


By Swapnil Shireesh Javkhedkar - 11 Jul, 2021

    Share Via